I am often asked an experienced Buffalo Traffic Ticket Attorney what can happen if you receive an insurance lapse violation in New York state. If you are charged with an insurance lapse violation in New York State, the penalties can be quite severe. Not only do you face charges in a traffic or criminal court, there are additional penalties that DMV may impose for the insurance lapse. I will advise clients that the DMV typically will impose a fine of $8 a day for the first 30 days of an insurance lapse. Between 31 and 60 days, DMV will impose a fine of $10 a day for each day, and if you’re lapse goes between 61 and 90 days, DMV will impose a fine of $12 a day. In addition to that, your license could be suspended or revoked based on the period of the insurance lapse.
If you have received an insurance lapse violation in New York, contact Attorney Arthur Pressman to be your ticket to justice.