Charges for Trespass Violations
If you have been arrested for trespassing in New York State, you will need to retain the services of an experienced criminal defense attorney right away. Contact our office today to arrange a free confidential case review. Here is what you need to know about the charges for trespass violations in New York.
Charges for Trespass Violations | Definition of Noncriminal Trespassing
Trespass is a noncriminal offense for which a conviction can carry a maximum penalty of up to 15 days in jail. This does not refer to criminal trespassing, which is a far more serious crime with harsher penalties. When a person remains on another person’s property without permission, the charge of trespass may be brought. Those accused of trespassing should contact an experienced Buffalo criminal defense lawyer to deal with the matter.
Charges for Trespass Violations | Second Degree
Criminal trespass in the second degree is a Class A misdemeanor. This is a criminal charge and conviction will create a lifelong criminal record. A Class A misdemeanor is punishable by up one year in jail, a $1,000 fine, or three years of probation. Unlawfully entering or remaining in a dwelling is considered criminal trespass in the second degree and you should contact a criminal defense attorney immediately.
Charges for Trespass Violations | Third Degree
As a dedicated Buffalo criminal attorney, I often represent clients charged with criminal trespass in the third degree. This is a criminal offense. As a Class B misdemeanor, it is punishable by up to 90 days in jail. Unlawfully entering or remaining on fenced or enclosed property, such as a school building, is considered criminal trespass in the third degree.
Were you or a loved one arrested for trespassing? Don’t waste any time. Call experienced Buffalo criminal attorney Arthur Pressman today for expert legal representation. Our office offers a free initial consultation. Let our experience work for you.