Minimize DWI Penalties
Are you hoping to minimize DWI penalties that you may be facing? We all make mistakes and one mistake shouldn’t ruin the rest of your life. If you were arrested for drinking and driving, you might be scared and maybe even mad.
Minimize DWI Penalties | DWI Plea Policies
In New York State, every county district attorney’s office has a different plea policy on DWIs. In most counties in the western New York region, a .13 or lower for a first-time offender, where there is no accident involved, may get your charges reduced after negotiations between your lawyer and the district attorney to a non-criminal driving while impaired charge.
If you have prior convictions for any alcohol-related offense, or if there was an accident involved, most district attorneys’ offices will not offer you a plea, and the matter will be set down for trial.
Minimize DWI Penalties | DWI with Prior Convictions
If you are charged with a DWI in New York State, and you have a prior conviction for driving while intoxicated in the last 10 years, you will be charged with a felony. Ten years is the cut-off point in determining whether or not the case will remain a misdemeanor or a felony.
If you have a prior driving while impaired conviction within five years, penalties are increased. If you have three driving while impaired convictions within 10 years, what is normally a non-criminal infraction is elevated to a misdemeanor conviction. Remember, two driving while intoxicated convictions in 10 years is a felony. Three driving while impaired convictions in 10 years is a misdemeanor.
When it comes to criminal defense, experience is what matters most. Arthur Pressman has over 30 years of experience defending good people from bad situations. Schedule your free consultation and let his experience work for you.