Leaving the Scene of an Accident in New York State
Providing a strong criminal defense for you
Leaving the scene of an accident is serious and, depending on the damage or injuries, can carry serious criminal penalties. If you fled the scene of an accident, call our Buffalo office immediately for legal guidance on your next steps. Trust the office of Arthur L. Pressman, Attorney at Law. We have more than 30 years of experience dealing with the complex New York traffic courts and know how frightening this charge can be.
What to do if you are charged with leaving the scene of an accident
When you receive a ticket for leaving the scene of the accident, you may wonder:
- Can my license be suspended?
- Can I be arrested?
- What if I wasn’t aware that the accident occurred?
Contact our Buffalo law firm. We provide the strong defense you need.
Leaving the scene of an accident where property damage occurred
New York code VTL 600(1) indicates that if a driver involved in an auto accident knows, or has reason to know, that property damage has occurred, the driver is required to stay at the scene of the accident to provide all of the following:
- Driver license
- Proof of insurance
- Driver’s name and address, insurance carrier and driver license number to the other party
If you left the scene of an accident or have been ticketed for such, you can be fined up to $250 and face possible jail time of up to 15 days. In addition, at-fault drivers receive three points on their license.
If you are a commercial driver and leave the scene of an accident, you run the risk of having your license revoked for one year. This can be devastating if your livelihood depends on driving. Our experienced lawyer, Arthur L. Pressman, provides you with strong legal representation for your defense.
Leaving the scene of an accident where personal injury occurred
New York state law says that if a driver is involved in an accident and knows or has reason to know that personal injury to another has occurred, the driver must stop at the scene and provide license and insurance information. Failure to do so could result in your being charged with a felony or misdemeanor. Subsequent violations are considered a Class A misdemeanor, followed by a Class E felony.
Call an experienced NY traffic attorney now
If you have received a ticket for leaving the scene of an accident, we provide you with knowledgeable legal advice. Contact the office of Arthur L. Pressman at (716) 984-1795 or online. For your convenience, our office is on the subway line. Even if you do not reside in greater Buffalo, we can help clients throughout New York State. We offer a free initial phone consultation seven days a week. In addition, you may pay your attorney’s fees online.
“Being arrested and faced with a charge is one of the scariest moments in a person’s life, and a good lawyer is necessary to ensure peace of mind as well as a favorable result. Thankfully Mr. Pressman was professional, diligent, responsive, and effective in his work. I am forever grateful for his services.”
– Emil Ferdman