In Arthur L. Pressman Law Blog, Traffic Violations

Have you been charged with a traffic ticket and need legal assistance? Read these 4 traffic violation tips, then call our Buffalo attorney.

1. Needing to Appear in Court for a Traffic Ticket

4 Traffic Violation TipsClients frequently ask me as a Buffalo Traffic Ticket Lawyer that if they retain my firm’s services, will they have to go to court? In most cases in New York, you will not have to appear in court. I will have you sign a document, waiving your appearance at that court. I advise clients as a Buffalo Traffic Ticket Lawyer that not going to court will save you time, save you money, and even save you humiliation.

2. Points from a Speeding Ticket

  • There is a point system for speeding tickets in New York State
  • The point system is based on how fast you were going
  • 0-10 mph is 3 points, 11-20 is 4 points, 21-30 is 6 points, 31-40 is 8 points, and 41 mph over the speed limit is 11 points which will result in you losing your license.

3. Out of State Drivers and Reciprocity

I am frequently asked as a Buffalo Traffic Ticket Attorney by out of state drivers and Canadian drivers about reciprocity, and what they should know. Reciprocity means that New York State’s DMV will report to 45 states, the province of Ontario and the province of Quebec if you have been issued a traffic ticket or violation.

I will advise potential clients as a Buffalo Traffic Ticket Attorney that it is important to take action and defend your charges with an experienced lawyer to keep you from earning additional fees or penalties in your home town.

4. Receiving an Insurance Lapse Violation

I was recently asked as a Buffalo Traffic Ticket Lawyer by a client about what to do if they received an insurance lapse violation.  You will face charges in traffic or criminal court and the DMV can impose other penalties.  I will advise clients as a Buffalo Traffic Ticket Lawyer that the DMV will impose a fine of eight dollars a day for insurance lapse.  Between 31 and 60 days, the DMV will impose a $10 fee a day.  Beyond that, 61-90 days the fee will become $12.  Your license could also become suspended.


Have you or a loved one been pulled over and charged with a traffic ticket? After reading these 4 traffic violation tips, contact our experienced Buffalo Traffic Violation Lawyers to be your ticket to justice!

Download Our Free Traffic Ticket Video Series

Subscribe to Our YouTube Channel

Recent Posts

Leave a Comment

3 Burglary Tips7 Drug Crime Tips