Burglary arrest is not something to take lightly. Each degree of the charge carries felony penalties. It is so important to hire an experienced attorney. In the meantime, here is what you need to know about a burglary arrest in New York State.
Burglary Arrest in the First Degree
If you have been arrested and charged with burglary in the first degree, you have been charged with a Class B felony, which can result in your serving up to 25 years in a state penitentiary. When a person enters or remains in a dwelling unlawfully and, in the course of entering that dwelling, commits another crime and someone is injured, or possesses a weapon or explosive, that person has committed the crime of burglary in the first degree. You should seek the assistance of an experienced criminal lawyer immediately.
Burglary Arrest in the Second Degree
If you get arrested for burglary in the second degree, you have been charged with a Class C violent felony which can be punishable by up to 15 years in a state facility. When a person enters and remains unlawfully in a building with the intent to commit another crime while there and, in the course of committing that other crime is either armed with a weapon, or physically injures someone, that person has committed the crime of burglary in the second degree. Please, immediately call an attorney who is experienced in defending these kinds of cases.
Burglary Arrest in the Third Degree
If you have been arrested and charged with burglary in the third degree, you have been charged with a Class D violent felony in New York State. A Class D felony carries with it a punishment of up to seven years in a state penitentiary. When one remains unlawfully in a premise with the intent to commit another crime, that is a Class D burglary in the third degree. Please contact a criminal defense attorney immediately if you are arrested and charged with this offense.
Burglary Arrest for Possession of Burglary Tools
If you’ve been arrested and charged with possession of burglary tools, you have been charged with a Class A misdemeanor, a criminal offense. If you are convicted for this offense, you will have a criminal record and you will spend up to one year in jail. Possession of burglary tools means you possess tools that can facilitate your entry of a building, a vehicle, or a dwelling and the taking of property. If you have been arrested and charged with possession of burglary tools, please call a Buffalo, New York criminal lawyer.
If you have been arrested for burglary in New York, please call our office today to get a free consultation with our highly experienced Buffalo criminal defense attorney Arthur Pressman.