In Arthur L. Pressman Law Blog, Criminal Defense

Charges for Burglary

Charges for Burglary

If you have recently been charged with burglary, you may be wondering how this will impact your future. You will need an experienced Buffalo criminal defense attorney to handle your case. Here is some important information about charges for burglary in New York State.

Charges for Burglary | Possession of Burglary Tools

As a dedicated Buffalo criminal attorney, I’ve handled many cases where people have been arrested with burglary tools. Possession of burglary tools is a Class A misdemeanor, a criminal offense. If convicted for this offense, you will have a criminal record and may spend up to one year in jail. Possession of burglary tools refers to tools that can facilitate entry of a building, vehicle, or dwelling and take property.

Charges for Burglary | Burglary in the First Degree

As an experienced Buffalo criminal lawyer, I often represent people who were charged with burglary in the first degree. Burglary in the first degree is considered a Class B felony which can result in a sentence of up to 25 years in a state penitentiary. If a person enters or remains in a dwelling unlawfully and, as he commits another crime, someone is injured—or if that person possesses a weapon or explosive, he or she has committed burglary in the first degree. You should seek the assistance of an experienced criminal lawyer immediately.

Download Our FREE Student Criminal Defense Guide

Charges for Burglary | Burglary in the Second Degree

As a dedicated Buffalo criminal attorney, I often represent clients who have been charged with burglary in the second degree. If you are accused of burglary in the second degree, that charge is a Class C violent felony, punishable by up to 15 years in a state facility. If a person enters and remains unlawfully in a building intent on committing a crime and that person is either armed with a weapon, or physically injures someone, he or she has committed burglary in the second degree.

Charges for Burglary | Burglary in the Third Degree

Many times, as an experienced Buffalo criminal lawyer, I will be asked about the penalties for burglary in the third degree. Burglary in the third degree is a Class D violent felony in New York State. A Class D felony carries a punishment of up to seven years in a state penitentiary. When one unlawfully remains in another’s premises with the intent of committing another crime, it is a Class D burglary in the third degree.

If you have been charged with burglary in New York State, please contact our experienced Buffalo criminal defense attorney today to schedule a free consultation.

Recent Posts

Leave a Comment

Basics of DWI Defense