Questions About Assault Charges
Do you have questions about assault charges? Are you in need of experienced criminal defense in New York State? The consequences of committing a violent crime are serious and can change your life forever. Contact our office today to schedule a free consultation.
Questions About Assault Charges | What are the Penalties for Assault with a Deadly Weapon?
Assault in the first degree occurs when you intentionally cause serious physical injury to another person using a dangerous weapon or instrument. This is a serious, violent felony, which is a Class C felony in New York State. You could be punished up to 15 years in jail.
Questions About Assault Charges | What Happens if I Assault a Police Officer?
If you assault a police officer, a peace officer, an emergency medical technician, or any medical emergency services provider, you may be guilty of a felony assault. If you are charged with assaulting a police officer, it is important that you contact an experienced criminal attorney to defend you. This is a Class C felony in New York State, and you could be sentenced to up to 15 years in a state penitentiary.
Questions About Assault Charges | What is an ACD?
For a first offense, an experienced attorney is usually able to negotiate an ACD, which is an abbreviation for adjournment and contemplation of dismissal. What this means is, if you stay out of trouble for the next six months, fulfill any condition that the court imposes, then the charges will be dismissed, your record will be sealed and expunged, and this will be like it never happened.
If you have been arrested or charged with assault in New York, please contact our office right away and let experienced attorney Arthur Pressman help you through your allegations.