Information About Assault Cases
There are varying degrees of assault in New York State and, as such, there are varying degrees of assault penalties. Here is some helpful information about assault cases that you should be aware of. Contact our Buffalo office today to arrange a free consultation with our experienced and dedicated attorneys.
Information About Assault Cases | Assault with a Deadly Weapon
Assault in the first degree occurs when you intentionally cause serious physical injury to another person using a dangerous weapon or instrument. This is a serious, violent felony, which is a Class C felony in New York State. You could be punished up to 15 years in jail.
Information About Assault Cases | Assaulting a Police Officer
If you assault a police officer, peace officer, emergency medical technician, or any medical emergency services provider, you may be guilty of a felony assault. If you are charged with assaulting a police officer, it is important that you contact an experienced criminal attorney to defend you. This is a Class C felony in New York State, and you could be sentenced to up to 15 years in a state penitentiary.
Information About Assault Cases | ACD
For a first offense, an experienced attorney is usually able to negotiate an ACD, which is an abbreviation for adjournment and contemplation of dismissal. What this means is, if you stay out of trouble for the next six months, fulfill any condition that the court imposes, then the charges will be dismissed, your record will be sealed and expunged, and this will be like it never happened.
If you have been charged with assault in New York State, please contact our experienced Buffalo criminal defense attorney today to arrange a free consultation. We are dedicated to fighting for your rights.